The College of Registered Nurses is governed by the College Council. The Council is comprised of ten Registered Nurses, all elected by RNs and NPs in Newfoundland and Labrador and four public representatives who are appointed by the IAC (Independent Appointments Commission). Registered Nurses in our province have been afforded the privilege of self-regulation via the Registered Nurses Act, (2008) thus, the people of Newfoundland and Labrador are the primary focus of College Council.